top of page
Search

21-22 Solo Snowboard Trips

This is the first time I've written a blog about any of my trips. I usually primarily post to Instagram about my winter adventures, but I figured I'd give one big post to the entire season.

Little bit of backstory here...

I learned how to snowboard at 12 years old. But have really only been more seriously snowboarding for 9 seasons now. Every year, I go on a couple trips by myself that I call "Solo Snowboard Trips". I go anywhere from a few days to three weeks, to travel to other states or Canada to snowboard new mountains. I do prefer the term 'ski area' or 'mountain' over 'resort'. This is simply because resorts tend to be the more well-known mountains with loads of acreage and lodging on site...while the small mom-and-pop opperated, one trail places are typically referred to as ski areas. Both types of mountains are something I snowboard runs at so that I can legitimatley mark them off my list of new places to explore. (There is no rule out there for that, it's just the sandard I've set for myself.). I count all I can into a to-do list in order to claim I've snowboarded all that a state has to offer, etc. Over the years, riding new places has somehow turned into kind of being 'my thing'. (Sidenote: because of statements made in the past, I should to clear up that it's always been on my own dime and work vacation days saved up, not cause I'm wealthy or whyever else.)

I am a planner. I don't very often "wing it" during my trips, past figuring out where I might eat or sleep in my truck at. So, in great advance before any trip, I am researcing travel time, mileage cost, ticket prices, lodging, where I may or may not have any leeway in my itenerary, basically everything. People do often ask how I do more mountains than alotted days. I have a couple of answers for that. I put a couple or more mountains in one day. This always depends on the ski area size plus how long it will take ride a couple trails at them (or how long it will take to hike a run if the place is closed), and how far of a drive it is in between the ski areas. And sometimes, I spend two days at one large resort, while a couple of the other days are both double/triple headers at small places. For reasons of not feeling like I want to push people around to my schedule and in turn not wanting to be slowed down, I don't invite others to travel with me. Life, lack of days off and cost, and not being on the same page with my itenerary gets in the way of others participating with me. However, this is my passion, therefore I save all these things and plan and book in advance to try to help my finances out and also to commit to my plan. For me personally, this works for me because of the rate I go! go! go! on my trips. My main adjective is to do as many places as I can in the time I have off. Most others can't keep up with that one way or another, therefore I go out into the world and meet my personal goals all by my lonesome. I am happy with this. I have the time of my life on these trips snowboarding the county side for myself. Like I said...snowboarding is my passion. My getaway. My treasured memories. My fear once I can no longer do this. But for now, it's my heart.


Moving on.

At the start of season, I had 114 mountains under my belt. By the end of it, I had snowboarded 15 new mountains. 129 mountains total, baby!


Part 1 I left for my first trip of the season on February 1st. I did 11 new mountains on this trip in 9 days. I drove approximately 2350 miles / 45 hours. 5 of the nights I stayed at a hostel and the rest I slept in my Dodge Pickup.


On the 1st, I left Montana on a mission. My goal for this trip was to finish up the remaining ski areas I had yet to snowboard in both Idaho and Utah. I left early and drove for 8.5 hours to Idaho. Along with all the driving, I did snowboard a double header on the 1st. I arrived at Magic Mountain Idaho (Mountain #115). It was in the 30s and lightly snowing. I knew that they were closed this day, but I couldnt arrange doing it on an open day in my schedule with all the other places I needed to do. So I knew I needed to hike it to do a run here. I was the only one around, no other souls or skinners. There was a road that went through the area but it didn't see a lot of travel. I didn't have cell service either. But alas, I took off and hiked the 740' vertical to the top. I took a few selfies and drank some water, then strapped in and did the run called Abbracadabra. I did think all the trails being named something magical was a cute idea for the fitting theme.

After I did the Magic Mountain run, I marked it off my list, and moved on. I drove 1hr 45min to the next destination. Pomerelle, Idaho #116.

I boarded a few runs during the daytime. I took a long break and had a few beers while waiting for sunset so I could do some night riding, since it is something the offered. I tried the new Jack Daniels Honey Lemonade and omg it's delicious and dangerous. I've looked for it everywhere I've been to since but still can't find where to buy it at.

I enjoyed the vibe there outside on the slopes. On one night run, I did the powdery lift line where there were no lights, and everyone on the chairlift above was whoopin' and hollerin' for me. It felt like I was a sneaky ninja sneaking up underneath everyone just for them to notice me at last second speeding by. Like "*gasp* what was that!?!". That made me feel cool. I hope others made it out of the lights to do that run, too.

But inside the lodge, there was what I found out was a women's learning day event with a ton of gals...they weren't too friendly tho and wouldn't smile back. There were also a million kids running around screaming and stomping in their ski boots. It was a lot to deal with in there which is why I couldn't wait for it to get dark to go back out riding.

I drove 1.5 hours to Pomerelle Walmart parking lot and found a spot to park and curl up in my pickup to sleep after the long day. There, I slept like a rock!



Day two was also a double header. I also finished up snowboarding all the ski areas available in Idaho! I woke up in my truck in Pomerelle and got ready for the day, starting with a whore's bath of sorts. I drove 30 minutes to Pebble Creek, Idaho #117.Once there, I bought a morning half-day ticket. So convenient, wish everyone did that! Most places only offer an afternoon half-day ticket. The morning was very enjoyable. It was on the smaller side but it had good terrain and some of it was a fun degree of steep. Oh and the views! Good views are always a favorite feature of places I explore. I would possibly come back here on a powder day, I can only bet it's an amazing hidden gem!

I left around noon after my ticket expied and drove about 2 hours to Utah. I parked at one of the state's newer ski areas, Cherry Peak #118. They have night riding, so, I decided to nap in my truck before the night hours started. I sort of dozed, but finally it was time. I got me a ticket and went up in the dark. There was so much night terrain open for that place's specs, definitely one of the coolest places I have visited for night rides for sure. The lodge was also super new, cool and large for the area.

After closing, I drove down a little ways to cell service again, and slept in my truck again at the Logan Utah Walmart parking lot.



I woke up and did some runs at Beaver Mountain, Utah #119. The ski area was close to where I slept overnight. I did a morning half-day day at Beaver. This mountain really impressive with with their groomers. There were a lot of groomed runs but they were all so clean, no berms, super fancy and nicely done. I had a great time, and by the looks of it, their parks were super great. I don't ride parks, but they looked tempting, even to me.

Later on, and I wasn't intending on this, but it worked out to go to Brighton to night ride with a friend I randomly met on a different solo trip in Colorado a few seasons ago. I have already been to Brighton, so I couldn't count it as a new ski area completed...but this was the first time I go to ride it for night riding. We boarded and hung out, he showed me around a couple headlamp runs that I hadn't been on before. Really good time! Brighton's night skiing game is very strong! 10/10 recommend this resort for night riding. And my friend had me meet the bartender there at Brighton. He had a hilarious sense of humor and was entertaining.

I drove to Park City and stayed at the hostel that I had booked in advance for the next several nights. I have stayed there a couple seasons ago, and I do enjoy hostels overall. So this was an obvious choice for me for the area and not wanting to spend over $200 a night for a normal hotel room. No, thanks. I am just fine with my low-life accomodations, thank you very much lol. Little more driving than I'd like, but oh well...its fine when I've got a lot of true crime podcasts to catch up on while driving.



On the morning of February 4th, 2022, I got up and ready, drove a little over an hour to Snowbasin, Utah #120. For some reason, I was excited to visit Snowbasin. Maybe it is because it looked a little less populated? But the mountain was fun to scoot around on. I took the tram up and looked down where the old Olympic run started when they had the Olympics there back in the day. Steep and moguly, but I went for it. Good ol' time, for sure. Oh! I did find out there was a waffle place on the slopes! So I set out to find it and did, as that is a life mission haha. Only found other ones at Jackson Hole, Purgatory, and Copper so far. But those waffle shacks were way more legit than at Snowbasin's because they were actual shacks and had a good vibe, here was just too fancy and pricey and in a really big and rich lodge. Don't get me wrong I ate the heck out of that waffle...but I personally wouldn't qualify it as a rare waffle shack find that I'm always on the hunt for lol

At the end of the day I hung out on the patio and met some old timers. While we drank a couple drinks, they told me stories of their lives back then and how the resort Snowbasin used to be. I really love when moments like that happen. It makes trips even more worth my while.



On Feb 5th, I got up really early and drove to Snowbird Resort, Utah #121. I know that they charge people to park there, so I wanted to get there close in the lot without needing to pay to park at a further one. I took a nap once I got there. My friend from Brighton that I rode with a couple nights ago was able to come ride for the day, and he brought one of his friends too.

Sadly, Mineral Basin shut down for the day due to high winds, so I couldn't go over there. And the tunnel looked a different kind of fun, but was also closed. Maybe another time. There were a couple fun and fast black diamonds to race down. Interesting ski area history to learn about Snowbird. Overall though, conditions were icy and sketch, but I've rode worse.

I went to eat sushi with them afterwards and visit. After dinner and saying goodbyes, I drove back to the hostel and showered and slept like a rock.



Sundance, Utah #122 was up next, on a quiet and decently unpopulated Sunday. Again, I got there early to avoid parking costs. I enjoyed my time there, but for February...there was no snow. Very suprising. Everything was pretty melted out and what snow that was left was semi cruddy. But the views and mountain characteristics to observe all day were sick! Smaller hill, so I did a bunch of runs to mark off the map. Back to the hostel, another shower and sleep.



The next two days I spent at Park City, Utah #123. I did two days because it's such a huge resort, and I had passed by it long enough in my previous travels, so I felt it was long overdue. Again, the snow conditions weren't good. But it was still fun to explore. At the end of the two days, I really felt like I got a good feel for the resort.

On my second day there I was able to meet up with a new friend and shred some with him on the Canyon's Side. He's a fan of Gilson and shreds the crap put of his Dual! I enjoy when it works out to have some company on random days during my trip. I also met an older gentleman who I took a few runs with before closing. He had a bunch of good stories to listen to.



My last day of this trip is another double header and loads of driving. I showered and left the hostel early. I drove further south in Utah for just over 3.5 hours. I arrived at Eagle Point, Utah #124 for a run. They were closed, which I knew of in advance and planned to hike a run. I didn't know at the time that they don't like hikers, and I didn't see any signs where I went. I wanted to try out my new Gilson Megaspines splitboard for my first time. I got the whole setup going and skinned up an quick and easy run. I loved the layout of Eagle Point and I bet I would love to go back there when it's a powday!

I left and drove another hour and a half to the last mountain in Utah for the afternoon. Brian Head Resort #125. It was very windy, like 'blow me down, Nancy!' windy. Interesting place, really nothing super wonderful to say. Only a few runs open. I can't judge much off of my experience there. But the views were nice, and the layout was interesting to maneuver around.

I left and drove north heading to go home in Montana. The drive was another 11.5 hours. I figured I'd sleep somewhere along the way, but somehow wasn't too tired after all the getting up early and driving hours to do two mountains. I made it all the way home and arrived at 330am on the 10th.

There were many good memories made on this trip, always on to the next!







Part 2

I left for my second and final trip of the season in the end of March. I did 4 new mountains, and went back to Brighton again. I drove approximately 1900 miles / 32 hours. 4 of the nights I stayed with Gilson Snow, and 3 I slept in my Dodge Pickup.


On March 27th, I drove 8 hours to Utah to spend a few days with the Gilson Snow Team. Gilson Snow has so wonderfully sponsored me in my snowboarding endeavors over the last few seasons, and I love it! Most seasons they'll put a trip together somewhere awesome for the Team Members to ski and snowboard to get content for their next season's product line up. I got to the Salt Lake City area and met up with Gilson at the houses they rented out for us. I had the pleasure of meeting several new members that I hadn't got to meet yet. Over the next three days, I got to know them more as well as hang out with my homies that I've known for longer. I rode at Brighton all those days with split up groups, while some others would hit up parks at other resorts. Man, everyone is so so so frikin talented and fun! I am always blown away at the balls these people have and how easy they can make they tricks they do look. They're always so nice to me and hype me up even though I'm not a park person like a lot of them. It's the coolest seeing everyone with such differences come together for days on end in the spirit of being ski bums and riding for Gilson.

I did turn 30 years old while I was with them on this trip. Definitely felt it, but I was happy to have these people around to be happy for me and congratulate me on getting another decade older!

(Now that Gilson has officially released their 22/23 line up, I can share these photos!)



I left early the morning of the 31st in order to skip over to Colorado to finish up the rest of the ski areas I haven't done yet in the state. I had to do a few while I still had days off and was south enough to fit a few moutnains in so I wouldn't have to go back for them seperately on another trip. And I got 'er done!

I drove six hours to Powderhorn, Colorado #126 to snowboard a half day there. Well worth it, the tree runs here are amazing. Loads of aspens, huge-ass aspens, which are always welcome in my book cause they're different to me. My favorite run here was called Mad Dog Glades, had to do that one a few times for sure! The snow was a little bit heavy, which is to be expected for a late season afternoon.

At closing, I left and drove 3 more hours to Telluride. I always heard that Telly were sticklers about car camping, kinda like Vail county. So I just paid like 10 bucks for a parking garage. Middle of the night, I had to piss, so I got up and walked to a bathroom. It was so quiet and actually snowing a few inches. On my way back to my truck, I stumbled over a soft lump on the ground. I brushed the snow off it and it was a coat. It had been there and hidden for a while because I had to pry it off of the frozen ground. It was a big down coat, which I don't have so I figured I scored. (A couple months later, I was cleaning at home and came across it, so I washed it. Turns out it is actually a coat from Aspen worth probably more than any others I own. I estimated alost $400. I also found a very nicely rolled joint in the pocket, which I got rid of since I don't smoke and who knows what it might've been laced with lol)



April 1st came along. I got up and out of my truck again, got ready for another beautiful riding day. How I was blessed enough to have it snow several inches over night this late in the season,,,whew! I always say that the snow gods grace me on my trips because things like that always seem to happen for me. I'm lucky it does, especially since I don't storm chase.

I spent an amazing day at Telluride #127, and 100% want to come back to this mountain.

I always had different ideals of Telly over the past years, but I was mostly wrong!

So, I thought Telluride was another extremely rich, high-speed quad access to every crevasse of the slopes type of place...much like Aspen or Beaver Creek or Sun Valley. With gold plated everything and wealthy people littering the runs in their expensive designer gear acting like they're God's gift to skiing.

Nah, bruh.

There are still several old double and triple lifts. I met a bunch of locals more so than visitors. I felt welcome there with my lowly garb. It wasn't rich feeling and I didn't feel exclusive vibes. I even got it on Gaper Day and it was hella fun, this group invited me to have a few drinks with them which doesn't happen often, and it was a hoot!

Yes, Telly is technically rich, but it was not what I expected for sure. Maybe its cause I didn't hang out in town or villages? Idk. Either way, I was pleasantly surprised.

The runs and snow conditions were amazing for me too! The views are larger than life, too. I definitely will always remember Telluride with a smile on my face! I want to bring my husband here someday!

I left super happy, and drove a couple of hours to Silverton and stayed there in my truck again. Yes, I do at least take whore's baths if I stay in my truck that often.




Silverton, Colorado #128

Finally!

Doing a heli drop has been on my bucket list for years now. This was my third serious attempt at making it happen and it all finally worked out. I was so skeptical about it happening this time...but it finally did, and did so tremendously!

I was in the town of Silverton Colorado when the co to the vid was starting in 2020. I woke up ready for my heli drop that day and read that the CO governor shut the state down that day in March for pandemic scares. So I drove all the way home, disappointed.

Last season I had my second attempt at my heli drop planned for mid-February...only to tear my ACL less than two weeks before my drop.

So I decided that if this season's attempt was botched too, then maybe God was trying to tell me I was being saved from some kind of certain death if I kept trying to force my way into a Silverton heli drop lol 🤣 all jokes, but it is odd how certain things don't work out, not for lack of trying.

But I finally got 'er done! I only did one drop just to test the waters, and hope to do more someday when conditions are not 'April'. Although to be fair, it snowed a solid 10" the day before I arrived, so I again lucked out with good conditions...especially for it being April!

I also saw all the hiking to be had at Silverton, and after my Gilson Trip and days of hard riding right before this, I wasn't planning on hiking. Alas, I started up the mountain thinking I was only gonna go to the first entrance. Nah dude, I hiked my ass to the top and boarded the Rope Dee Chute. Happy I did, and as always felt somewhat accomplished and proud of myself for hiking on my bum knee to the end after a long trip. Even tho my knee sucks now, I'm still blessed to be able to do things like Silverton, even if it is in some pain.

Always will be an incredible memory!




On the 3rd, I woke up and left Rifle, CO where I had stayed, and drove 3 hours to Granby Ranch #129. I showed up and didn't want to wait for 12:30 for their still super expensive $100 half day to start. This place was just not it. This place was like bankrupt last time I was in the area, so I skipped it. Well, it opened back up and I have to count it in order to say I did it. So I just snuck off and did a little boarding there off to the side of the lodging there. Really nothing terribly special here to make it stand out to me except it not really being worth it, sorry. At least I got super delicious coffee in Granby town after it.

After I was done snowboarding all of the state of Colorado <3 I headed home and got there after another 8 hours of driving.



All in all, I really had a wonderful time on this Solo Snowboard Trip. Always the case really. Can't ever complain when I'm living parts of my dreams that I worked hard for. Can't wait for another trip, hopefully next season!




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page